Our Schools Leadership Committee

This committee will advise the Mayor on skills, background, and values they believe are important as she considers the selection of the next DCPS Chancellor. Pursuant to section (b) of DC Code 38-174, the Mayor must establish a review panel to assist in selecting the Chancellor. Specifically, the Code indicates that the Mayor shall:

  • Establish a review panel of teachers, including representatives of the Washington Teachers Union, parents, and students (“panel”) to aid the Mayor in his or her selection of the Chancellor;
  • Provide the resumes and other pertinent information pertaining to the individuals under consideration, if any, to the panel; and
  • Convene a meeting of the panel to hear the opinions and recommendations of the panel.


  • Sylvia Mathews Burwell, President of American University
  • Dr. Charlene Drew Jarvis, UDC Board of Trustees

Other Committee Members

  • Christopher Berfalk, DCPS Teacher and WTU Member
  • Anita Berger, Principal, Banneker High School
  • Rosa Carrillo, DCPS Parent, Language Services Program Director of Multicultural Community Services
  • Tumeka Coleman, Walker-Jones EC, DCPS 2018 Teacher of the Year
  • Elizabeth Davis, President of the Washington Teachers’ Union
  • Antwayne Ford, Chair of the Work Force Investment Council
  • Ivan Frishberg, DCPS Parent
  • Nicky Goren, Ward 3 Parent, President & Chief Executive Officer, Meyer Foundation
  • Sean Gough, Coolidge High School Alumnus
  • Danielle Hamberger, Director of Education Initiatives, A. James & Alice B. Clark Foundation
  • Arnebya Herndon, Ward 7 Parent
  • Dasarath Kiridena, DCPS Student
  • Jeanie Lee, President and Executive Director, DC Public Education Fund
  • Zion Matthews, Student at Ron Brown College Preparatory High School, 10th Grade
  • Terence Ngwa, DCPS Teacher and WTU Executive Director
  • Victor Reinoso, Ward 4 Parent, CEO and Co-Founder of Decision Science
  • Tatiana Robinson, DCPS Student